Melbourne suburbs return to COVID-19 lockdown as NSW restrictions ease, Australia death toll at 104

The European Union wants Australian tourists to start travelling again after creating its first “safe list” of 14 countries from which the bloc will allow non-essential travel in the aftermath of the global pandemic.

A resident wears a protective mask near the Eiffel Tower.

A resident wears a protective mask near the Eiffel Tower.Credit:AP

Travellers from the “safe list” countries will potentially be able to go to Europe and then travel freely throughout the Schengen area, which includes 22 EU countries, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

The 14 countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The list will be reviewed every two weeks to add some countries and remove others. It is only a recommendation to EU members, who can still impose some travel restrictions. The idea at least is that they should not open up to other countries.

Russia, Brazil and Turkey, along with the United States, are among countries whose containment of the virus is considered worse than the EU average, and so will have to wait at least two weeks for approval.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.